Printing

I chose to print some of the negatives that i liked from the first shoot, as i wanted to see them in a bigger form which will help me with the decision process when choosing the final 8 images. As i had now processed in D76 due to running out of Rodinal, i knew the prints would be lacking the contrast i had seen with my first film, and with the flat conditions, i would have to work to build the contrast. Some of the images have solution on them, a white dusty paste which could be from the wash. If i chose to use this images for my final prints, i will re print them.


Image 1: Cow
I thought this image was going to be high in contrast looking at the negative, but i found it very hard to print due to its grey tones. My process in order of the images shown:

Step 1: Grade 2, 3 second intervals
Step 2: Grade 3.5, 3 second intervals to build contrast
Step 3: Split grade printing. Grade 5, 3 second intervals
Step 4: Developer change. Higher dilution of 1/4 over the standard 1/9. Grade 5, 3 second intervals
Step 5: Test block, 8 seconds, grade 5.

IMG_2544I was really pleased with the punch that the higher dilution of the solution gave the image. Although the overall tones are still grey, i feel this helps the aesthetic as it isn’t a ‘pleasing’ image to the eye. I enjoy this print as it looks unusual, from the shape you can clearly see it is some kind of animal, and it makes you stop and process the image.


Image 2: Farm House

I knew this image was going to be flat due to the grey sky and block of grass at the bottom of the frame. But i think the frame is compositionally pleasing, the farm house looks inviting and homely. I decided to print this anyway due to wanting to re-shoot the frame on a day with better conditions, so i was checking the vantage point. The final print was 20 seconds, grade 5. I didn’t add another grade as the highlights would’ve added to the flatness of the grey sky. I feel the whole image could’ve done with around  2 seconds less, as towards the left the trees get very dense.


Image 3: Fresh Chicken

This image would be accompanied by the text of the manager saying where the chicken comes from (Devon) due to the lack of free range chicken in Gloucestershire. I began on grade 5, 3 second intervals, and chose 11 seconds. I then did another test strip with 3 1 second intervals, grade 1 to add texture to the chicken.

IMG_2549I think the blacks at the bottom of the image, on the rack really make the image by drawing the eyes in. The rack makes it look like an object rather than an animal, contextualising the image along with the text.


Image 4: Portrait, Barry.

I was really pleased i got a nice portrait of Barry, as he is important to the running of the farm shop. The fleece is important as it states Over Farm Market, and the black and white contrast works well on this area.

Step 1: 3 second intervals, grade 5
Step 2: Test strip, 7 seconds
Step 3: 1 second grade 1


Adding the grade 1 bought back the contrast and detail in areas such as Barry’s hair, which had been lost with just the grade 5. I like this print as it is complementary and the contrasts work well.


Image 5: Aubergine

I wanted to test this image as i knew it would have a huge amount of contrast due to the deep blacks of the vegetable. I started with 3 second exposures, grade 5. I went for 20 seconds, nearly the end of my test strip, to get the strong blacks. I then did 1 second intervals of grade 1, which i chose 7 seconds to retrieve all the detail.

IMG_2556I think the deep contrasts of this image are really striking, but they don’t really fit with the other images in the series due to the grey tones. I would maybe use a lower amount of time on grade 5 to reduce the contrast, to keep an aesthetic theme.


Image 6: Onions

I like the depth of field in this image, as the onions create a sharp leading line, and the background creates a rustic atmosphere. I used an exposure of 8 seconds, but looking back on the print i could’ve used the burning technique to add detail in to the top left corner, as this distracts from the main body of the image.


Image 7: Meat

I chose this image due to the depth of texture in every area in the image. It represents the mass of meat that is sold in the farm shop, which can accompany information about where the meat comes from. The print is slightly grainy, which is partly due to the seasoning on the meat which shows up in grains, and maybe a slight grain on the film as i had to use a low aperture to get the lighting right, which would’ve reduced the range of focus.

Leave a Reply

