CVs

CVs play a vital role in securing a job. Before the interviewer even sees you, they make a judgement based on your CV, including the style, information and clarity. It communicates your best points to the reader, and you are essentially selling yourself through this document.

Main points:

  • Personal summery
  • Education
  • Previous experience
  • Skills

Things to get across:

  • What photography i am inetrested in
  • Can work in a team
  • Punctual
  • Making decisions
  • Creative
  • Happy, friendly personality
  • Software knowledge

Examples:
I like these examples as they clearly lay out the key points that are needed on the CV. I think putting highlights after the summery, therefore being one of the first things the reader see’s, is good to get across your good attributes. I do think it is slightly too simple though, there is nothing eyecatching about the CV.

https://www.thebalance.com/photographer-resume-example-2063102

photography-assistant.png


My original CV, draft 1
I originally sent in my personal CV, which i had been using for part time work. These are the adjustments that Future Plan suggested.

CV Draft 2
I then took the changes that had been suggested, and applied them to an updated photographic CV. I particularly like the new lay out, the red band gives a striking edge to keep the reader in the frame. The bigger, bolder headings also give the impression of being more organised.

From this CV, they sent me this feedback:

Hello Chloe
Thank you for submitting your Photography CV for review and I can see how you have translated the relevant information from your Traditional CV format.  I would recommend that to improve it further you look to use a Creative CV format.
https://futureplan.glos.ac.uk/docs/138/Creative-CVs-handout.pdf
This guide about Creative CVs will show you how you can re-format to one page and add a photograph you have taken which showcases your style.   I have also attached a sample Photography CV from the University of Arts which also shows how you can lay it out.
You should also look to add a link to a website that evidences more of your work, much like an online portfolio.
As you get more experience you can update your CV with details of who you have worked with.
If you would like to have a go at re-formatting and then send in for review please do so via Ask A Question

Regards
Natalie
Future Plan Careers Team

I found the Creative CV very useful to see different types of lay out and colour. But the Photography CV from the uni of arts is very formal, block texts and doesn’t draw me in. I will definitely explore the creative CV over this.

I googled, Creative CV Photography, and i chose these examples which i think are the most professional and eye-catching. The main theme between all of them is the back and white statement, whether it be a border or a picture. I think it works well without adding too much colour, which can quickly become unprofessional.  I like the landscape CV, as the logo creates a focal point, but i think to keep it to a professional standard i will first work with the portrait orientation. The Brandon Wallace CV motivated me to add my logo on to the CV, as this is something i had forgotten about. Adding my Logo will create an ongoing theme throughout all of my documentation. As the suggestion was fitting all of the work on to one page, i took inspiration from the 4th CV with the text in the banner, as i think this will be a good way to separate text but compile it in to a smaller area.

CV Draft 3

Creative cv 1The examples use a charcoal border, but as my Logo is black, and i didn’t want to invert it, i chose to use a green border, to represent the landscape context of my photography. When looking at this CV, i immediately feel more confident as it looks organised and the sections create a bolder statement. I like the little icons for each info, as it adds character to the normal parts of the CV. I removed my full address, as i decided this wasnt relevant, and isn’t stated on many CV’s i have looked at. I also added area code to my phone number, for international clients. On my blog, i use the break lines between parts of my blog, and i think they are effective to stop the thought process, but then continue it on another point. So i added these to create different category’s. I’m personally not normally a fan of bold text, so to change this i used Uppercase headings, which are equally as bold.

Feedback:

Hi Chloe
Thanks for getting back to us with your creative CV. I will be answering your question about the cover letter too, probably tomorrow afternoon. I’ve taken a look at the CV and am impressed by its clarity and general design.I have made some suggestions on it as attached, mainly concerned with the positioning of (for example) your places of study. By moving to one line, it creates more space for more details. I also feel you may have a bit of space to play with at the bottom of the page? If so, it’s worth asking yourself if you can use it effectively. Perhaps say more about your skills at making creative decisions? No need to write a huge amount.
I also wanted to mention the work experience section: as this is a creative CV I assume you mean that you want to use it for photo/similar opportunities (rather than just make it look different to a standard CV)If that’s the case, I don’t think you need to have so much detail about bar work etc and I would suggest you use that space to write more about any photography experiences……perhaps expand on the Landscape experience?

Final CV:

final cv.JPG

Leave a Reply

