Evaluation

I am very pleased with the outcome of my first book, The New Landscape. I set out to make a book that documented landscapes and could inform people about the human effects on the land without directly documenting people. My biggest inspirations came towards the end of making the book, looking at the New Topographic movement, and Richard Misrach. I could reflect on their work and compare how they used the same photographic intentions in different compositions. It motivated me that the type of photography I was making, is something that becomes recognized.

The lay out of the book is simple but affective, having the images on the right page allows them to be the first part of the spread the reader engages with, then reading the small amount of text that explains or provides details to the landscape. The images I chose have been decided on terms of how they suit the lay out and flow of the book. Focusing on making sure the images work as a story, showing you through the landscape in terms of colour balance and location. I think having the Iceland images provides a nice contrast at how two similar ground masses can use their landscape, with the advantages and disadvantages to both. I think the length of the book is good, with 24 different images it allows the reader to see different aspects of the landscapes without becoming overwhelmed with similar landscapes and information.

Extra things in the book could’ve included factual images, such as graphs and industrialisation plans. But as I didn’t plan this in to my book originally, I decided not to go down this path on this occasion. Also, maybe with a longer project, compare one or more extra landscapes in the book.

I think the book allows the reader to create their own opinion on the statements at whether they think the industrialisation is beneficial for the landscape or not.  It is affective and I am pleased with the level of photography that has gone in to it.

Leave a Reply

