Website

chloelomax.com


Designing my website is one of the hardest tasks I have faced so far in putting my work out in to the public. I feel it is the prime area to present my photography, and also presents me as a photojournalist. In the age of social media and most things being found over the internet, its the most popular area people will see my work.


http://petapixel.com/2013/05/30/photographer-websites-why-you-need-one-and-what-to-do-about-it/

Peta Pixel suggests that the main points of the website will be :

  • Ease of use
  • Get out of your own way
  • Create a mousetrap
  • Be bold and beautiful

“The goal is to entice the visitor, not overwhelm them.”

The most important part I found from this page is about image selection, not ‘overwhelming’ the viewer. I naturally find image selection hard, and it is something that I am highly concentrating. It took me months of having my website before picking a final 30(ish) images. I had spent 10 weeks photographing in Sri Lanka before I made the website, which meant I had thousands of fresh images that I had to choose from. Along side this, making sure the images flow. I didn’t want a run of fashion-like portraits from university along side my personal documentary work, so I had to choose in more of an ‘album’ form.

I liked this website as it also gave options of ‘easy self make’ websites below its tips. I find this is really motivational for photographers to get tips and be given an easy gateway to reach their goal.


5 Benefits of Having a Website for Your Small Business

Small Business Trends

I wanted to see how pages compared having a photography website to a ‘small business website’. Although many photographers create their own personal businesses, the web doesn’t seem to process them as the same thing.

  1. You stop being invisible
  2. You help control your rankings
  3. You create another sales tool
  4. You build authority
  5. You build an email list

I really enjoyed the term ‘stop being invisible’. I find its really easy to build up a lot of work and never publish it anywhere or put it to any use. Also along side this, you can control how many people are viewing this when you do put it out there.


I chose to use zenfolio after looking on many sites, as I found it easy to access my photographs, I can bulk update my metadata by mass files, and change my layouts very easily.

Being able to bulk update my metadata is important to allow me to keep on top f my copyright details to ensure people can not use my work illegally, as this is a big problem faced to photographers.

I wanted to keep it simple, with easy navigation that presents my work in a clean manner. I chose my homepage in this stylechlso it presents large formats of my photographs to give the viewer an immediate indication of my work, with an interesting roll over view to make it look less ‘static’. The homepage presents the same images and order as the portfolio, so the viewer does not miss any images.

I chose to present the portfolio in a simple grid, allowing the viewer to look at all the images / select which ones, whilst also being able to click through them or watch them as a slide show. By hovering over the images, you can see where and when the photographs were taken, providing the relevant information an employer/viewer may want to see.

On my final page, there is a contact me section. I chose this lay out as it is easy for the viewer to get in contact with me.

I bought my own domain, chloelomax.com. I decided to use this simple domain to allow people to access my work easily and freely, with a professional look not having the ‘.zenfolio’.

screenshot-103screenshot-104screenshot-105screenshot-106

Leave a Reply

